Player of Year Awards

The Player of the Year awards will be presented on Friday night.


Golden Tickets

2015 Season Tickets launched today.


Drogheda Utd 0:2 Rovers


  SSE Airtricity League - United Park - Friday 17th October
Drogheda Utd 
(0) 0
: 2 (1)
             Kilduff 4' O'Connor 48'
Gaphotos Match Photographs here  
Hoops Line-Out
Barry Murphy  
Simon Madden  
Conor Kenna (c)  
Jason McGuinness  
Luke Byrne  
15 Robert Bayly
Ryan Brennan
Gary McCabe  
Sean O'Connor  
Ciaran Kilduff  
Ronan Finn  
11 Kieran Waters for O'Connor 67'  
18 Shane Robinson for Brennan 70'  
9 Karl Sheppard for Kilduff 81'  
37 Stephen McPhail  
2 Robert Cornwall  
24 Dean Kelly  
25 Craig Hyland  


Ryan Brennan

A goal early in each half was enough to claim the points on a wet and windy evening in United Park. Rovers played with the elements in the first-half and took an early lead through Ciaran Kilduff but couldn't add to the scoreline before the break. However Sean O'Connor's far post header early in the second half put a dampner on a Drogs revival.

In the first minute Ciaran Kilduff got behind the home defence and laid the ball off for Gary McCabe to force Shlingermann into a fine save and Ronan Finn followed up to cross for Ryan Brennan to glance a header wide.

ball5[GOAL 0:1 - 4th min.] The Hoops didn't have long to wait for the opening goal as good work from Madden and Finn allowed McCabe to run into space down the right and his low cross was met first time by Kilduff and he smashed his shot into the roof of the net.

Walshe and O'Neill combined in the box for the Drogs on 8 minutes but Conor Kenna was on hand to block the danger. After the goal the Hoops controlled possession but failed to test the Drogs 'keeper with the wind at their backs.

On 22 minutes Madden sent O'Connor on a run down the right and his cross found Kilduff but his header went across goal. There was a big shout for a penalty on 27 minutes when Jason McGuinness seemed to make contact with Gary O'Neill as he swung at the ball but Ref. Kelly waved play on.

On the half-hour Sean O'Connor nipped in to take the ball of a hesitant Drogs 'keeper but Simon Madden's cross into the box was cut out for a corner. McGlynn shot narrowly wide for the Drogs on 35 minutes while at the other end Madden's run into the box needed a last ditch tackle from Stephen Maher to deny him a shot on goal.

ball5[GOAL 0:2 - 48th min.] The Drogs may have had the wind with them in the second-half but it was Rovers who struck for the second goal when Simon Madden's fine run and cross to the back post was headed into the net by Sean O'Connor.

A minute later Madden again was the provider with a good low cross into the six-yard box but Kilduff couldn't force the ball on target. On 56 minutes Ronan Finn picked out the run of McCabe on goal but his shot was weak and Schlingermann made a decent ave.

On 68 minutes a good move ended with Kilduff receiving the ball on the edge of the area and his shot on the turn was on target and only a fine save from Schlingermann denied him a second goal. Gary O'Neill went down under a challenge from Jason McGuinness as he found himself in space behind the defence but the Ref. waved play on. A McCabe shot from the left-hand side of the box needed a save from the Drogs 'keeper on 79 minutes.

The game ended on a high note when a Holohan free-kick into the box saw O'Neill get his head to the ball but Barry Murphy tipped his effort over the bar. Then a shot from McGuigan beat Murphy but crashed off the right-hand post. At the other end substitute Karl Sheppard got on the end of Finn's pass to shoot on goal but Schlingermann got his fingertips to the ball to deny the Hoops number 9.




Player of Year Vote

Text vote now open for 2014 Premier Division Player of the Year


Teamtalk v Drogheda



# Team M P
1 Dundalk 29 66
2 Cork City 29 63
3 St. Patricks Athletic 30 59
4 Shamrock Rovers 29 52
5 Sligo Rovers 29 39
6 Derry City 30 38
7 Drogheda United 29 36
8 Bohemians 30 36
9 Limerick 29 32
10 Bray Wanderers 30 24
11 UCD 29 19
12 Athlone Town 29 18


Club Sponsors & Official Partners  »

Official Website © Shamrock Rovers FC - All Rights Reserved - Shamrock Rovers FC Ltd.
Private Company Limited by Shares. Registered in Ireland. Reg No 245954.
Club Office: Tallaght Stadium, Whitestown Way, Tallaght, Dublin 24.
  Phone: (+353) 1 460 5948, Fax: (+353) 1 460 4875, Email: