Twiggy is League's Player of the Year

Sunday, 08 August 2010 21:34

Congratulations from all at Shamrock Rovers F.C. to Gary Twigg on receiving the FAI Airtricity League of Ireland player of the year 2009 award at tonight's annual FAI awards.

GaryTwiggIreland's top international football stars were today (Sunday) honoured at the 20th FAI International Football Awards which took place at RTÉ studios, Donnybrook, Dublin 4.
Republic of Ireland captain, Robbie Keane scooped the senior international player of the year award while his goal against France in the FIFA World Cup play-off in November was voted as the international goal of the year.

The young player award went to Manchester United's Darron Gibson while Seamus Coleman captured the U21 award as Lanre Oyebanjo was crowned the U19 player of the year.

The special merit award was handed to former senior international women's player, Olivia O'Toole who retired from international football last season following a distinguished career with the international side. O'Toole began her international career in 1992, marking her full debut by scoring against Spain. Olivia is Ireland's record leading goal-scorer at all levels within the association, surpassing the 50-goal mark in May 2007 by scoring against Italy in the EURO 2009 qualifier.

The recipient of the international personality of the year Award was Riccardo Villa. Villa was a member of the Argentina team who claimed the 1978 World Cup before moving to Tottenham Hotspur where he won the FA Cup double in 1981 and 1982.

The FAI International Player of the Year Award winners are:

Senior International Player of the Year: Robbie Keane - Tottenham Hotspur

Senior Women's International Player of the Year: Niamh Fahey - Arsenal

International Goal of the Year: Robbie Keane - Tottenham Hotspur
France V Rep of Ireland, 18th November 2009

Young International Player of the Year: Darron Gibson - Manchester United

Under 21 International Player of the Year Seamus Coleman - Everton
Airtricity League Player of the Year: Gary Twigg - Shamrock Rovers

Under 19 International Player of the Year: Lanre Oyebanjo - Histon FC

Under 17 International Player of the Year: Stephen McDonnell - Dundalk FC

Under 16 International Player of the Year: John O'Sullivan - Blackburn Rovers

Under 19 Women's International Player of the Year: Julienne Russell - Salthill Devon

Under 17 Women's International Player of the Year: Dora Gorman - Salthill Devon

Intermediate Player of the Year: Ken Hoey - Rockmount

Junior International Player of the Year: Wayne Fitzgerald - Carrick United
FAI Schools International Player of the Year: Shane Howard - Colaiste Eoin, Hacketstown, Carlow

Football For All International Player of the Year: Luke Evans - CP Squad

Hall of Fame Award: Ray Treacy
Special Merit Award: Olivia O'Toole
International Personality of the Year Award: Riccardo Villa

Share this article!

Premier Division TableMP
Dundalk Dundalk2760
Cork City Cork City2757
St. Patricks Athletic St. Patricks Athletic2752
Shamrock Rovers Shamrock Rovers2647
Sligo Rovers Sligo Rovers2636
Derry City Derry City2736
Limerick Limerick2732
Drogheda United Drogheda United2732
Bohemians Bohemians2531
10  Bray Wanderers Bray Wanderers2722
11  UCD UCD2719
12  Athlone Town Athlone Town2716


Club Sponsors & Official Partners  »

Official Website © Shamrock Rovers FC - All Rights Reserved - Shamrock Rovers FC Ltd.
Private Company Limited by Shares. Registered in Ireland. Reg No 245954.
Club Office: Tallaght Stadium, Whitestown Way, Tallaght, Dublin 24.
  Phone: (+353) 1 460 5948, Fax: (+353) 1 460 4875, Email: